2017 Impact Award Winners

ULI Austin’s annual Impact Awards recognize and celebrate projects and people throughout Greater Austin that exemplify ULI’s mission: to provide leadership in the responsible use of land and in creating and sustaining thriving communities worldwide.

The 2017 Awards were celebrated at the Hotel Van Zandt on Thursday, January 19, 2017.

watson_pic A single, honorary Vision Award was presented to Kirk Watson, former mayor of Austin and current Texas State Senator. First elected to the Texas Senate in 2006, Kirk represents Senate District 14, which now covers most of Travis County and all of Bastrop County.

Kirk has approached the Texas Legislature with many of the same goals and strategies he pursued throughout his career in public service – building new coalitions, working with all sides, and preparing for Texas’ future. After five legislative sessions, Kirk has been widely recognized for his idealism as well as his effectiveness.

Additionally, three competitive built Project Awards were announced and presented at the January 19th reception.

Competitive Award Category  |  Innovation

The Innovation award recognizes originality and creativity in several aspects of development such as design, placemaking, supporting use of public transit, green techniques, financing (including public/private partnerships), innovative land use and/or community planning, or other inventive features.

The 2017 Innovation finalists were:

Competitive Award Category  |  Influence

This award will be given to a project, policy, or program that created a positive impact beyond its immediate borders and/or catalyzes the development of the surrounding community, resulting in a lasting effect on the built environment.

The 2017 Influence finalists were:

Competitive Award Category  |  Public Places

The Public Places Award recognizes a project that provides the public with enhanced civic, open or public space access or experiences.  Award candidates may be public sector, non-profit, public/private partnership or entirely private sector as long as the space itself is generally open to the public without charge.

The 2017 Public Places finalists were: